Founded in 1943 and officially recognized by the Holy See in 1948, the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) is the national association of Canada's bishops. It is one of a world-wide network of episcopal conferences established by Vatican Council II (1962-65) as permanent institutions where bishops exercise certain national pastoral offices.

The CCCB offers support to the Canadian bishops in their role as shepherds, and provides a forum where they can work collegially in carrying out their episcopal duties. The Conference concerns itself with questions of national and international scope such as social justice in Canada and in developing countries, ecumenism, Christian education, respect for life and the Synods of Bishops.

The CCCB is currently composed of 130 bishops serving 71 dioceses.