smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

(CCCB – Ottawa)... The Holy Father has approved a request by the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) that the six mission dioceses in Northern Canada, until now under the jurisdiction of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, be transferred to the competency of the Congregation for Bishops and pass over to the jurisdiction of the common law of the Church. The transfer takes place January 25, 2016, the Feast of the Conversion of Saint Paul the Apostle.

The six ecclesiastical circumscriptions are the Archdiocese of Keewatin-Le Pas and its suffragan Dioceses of Churchill-Hudson Bay and Moosonee, and the Archdiocese of Grouard-McLennan with its suffragan Dioceses of Mackenzie-Fort Smith and Whitehorse. The Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, His Eminence Fernando Cardinal Filoni, and the Prefect of the Congregation for Bishops, His Eminence Marc Cardinal Ouellet, have informed the CCCB of the transfer. It follows previous consultations with the six dioceses and also with the CCCB. The 2015 Plenary Assembly of the Bishops of Canada had previously agreed that a working group of Bishops be set up to bring forward recommendations on pastoral and financial collaboration, so that all Canadian dioceses and eparchies may assume greater responsibility in assisting the Church in the North.

crosbyWelcoming the decision by the Holy See, the Most Reverend Douglas Crosby, O.M.I., Bishop of Hamilton and President of the CCCB, states that "with the transfer of the remaining dioceses in the North to the common law of the Church, their six Bishops, with the help of all the Bishops and the Catholic faithful of Canada, are now fully responsible for the pastoral life of each of their diocesan Churches." He points out that "today's decision follows almost a quarter of a century of planning by the Northern dioceses, the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, dioceses in Southern Canada, and the Holy See."

In his statement, Bishop Crosby also expresses the gratitude of the Bishops of Canada to Indigenous People "for having shared their cultural and spiritual gifts with the Church and with all Canadian society, and for those communities and many individuals among the First Nations, Metis and Inuit who are living witnesses of Our Lord's call to mercy, healing and forgiveness."

Link to the statement of the CCCB President (PDF)

Link to the map of Canadian dioceses and eparchies

List of the dioceses transferred

Archdiocese of Keewatin-Le Pas
Archbishop Murray Chatlain
Catholic population: 37, 380 

Archdiocese of Grouard-McLennan
Archbishop Gerard Pettipas, C.Ss.R.
Catholic population: 44,470 

Diocese of Churchill-Hudson Bay
Bishop Anthony Wieslaw Krótki, O.M.I.
Catholic population: 6,115

Diocese of Moosonee
Bishop Vincent Cadieux, O.M.I.
Catholic population: 3,830

Diocese of Mackenzie-Fort Smith
Bishop Mark Hagemoen
Catholic population: 20,110 

Diocese of Whitehorse
Bishop-elect Héctor Felipe Vila
Catholic population: 8,150 

Last Updated on Monday, January 25 2016  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

2018synod en
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


In parishes across the country, masses are celebrated in at least 37 languages.