Transfer of two parishes from the Diocese of Sault Ste-Marie to the Diocese of Thunder Bay

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

diocese-map-circleFollowing the Decree of the Congregation for Bishops (Prot. N. 512/2017), dated 18 May 2017, the civilly registered land titles of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Manitouwadge, Ontario, and Saint Francis Regis Parish, Pic Mobert, Ontario, were transferred on 24 November 2017 from the Diocese of Sault Sainte-Marie to the Diocese of Thunder Bay. Confirmation of this was sent on 4 December 2017 to His Eminence Marc Cardinal Ouellet, Prefect of the Congregation for Bishops, and a copy received by the Executive Committee of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB). The transfer followed the earlier conversations and consultations of the Bishop of Sault Sainte-Marie and the Bishop of Thunder Bay, as well as consultations in the two dioceses and also with the Assembly of the Catholic Bishops of Ontario and with the CCCB.

Link to the Decree of the Congregation for Bishops (PDF)

Last Updated on Tuesday, March 06 2018  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

Woman at the Well Photo
2019WeekofLifeandFamily EN
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


In parishes across the country, masses are celebrated in at least 37 languages.