Bishop Frederick B. Henry recipient of the CCSTA 2017 Higgins Award

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

henryThe Canadian Catholic School Trustees' Association (CCSTA) recently named the Most Reverend Frederick B. Henry, Bishop Emeritus of Calgary, as recipient of its 2017 Justice James Higgins for his outstanding contribution to Catholic education in Canada. The award is the highest honour given by the CCSTA. In announcing the 2017 recipient, CCSTA President Mr. Marino Gozzola said that "Bishop Henry has been a champion for Catholic education across Canada, and especially in the provinces he has served, Ontario and Alberta." The award is named in memory of the distinguished Canadian jurist and Catholic school trustee, the Honourable Justice James Higgins (1913-1974) of St. John's, Newfoundland. The Board of Directors of the CCSTA annually presents the award to a person or group that has made an outstanding contribution to Catholic education in Canada. Bishop Henry will receive the award at the CCSTA annual general meeting and annual conference in Niagara Falls, Ontario, in June 2017.

Link to the CCSTA news release

Last Updated on Thursday, March 09 2017  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcentral DP EN Quick 

184-940K EN


Logo 500e Reformation
Euthanasia EN


According to Statistics Canada the number of Catholics is close to 13 Million or 44 per cent of the country’s total population.