Cardinal Ouellet is promoted to the Order of Bishops within the College of Cardinals

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

Cardinal-OuelletPope Francis has named four Cardinals to the Order of Bishops within the College of Cardinals according to the rescript published by the Holy See on 26 June 2018. His Eminence Marc Cardinal Ouellet, Prefect of the Congregation for Bishops and President of the Pontifical Commission for Latin America, who is Archbishop Emeritus of Québec, is one of them. The other three are: Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Secretary of State of the Holy See; Cardinal Leonardo Sandri, Prefect of the Congregation for Oriental Churches; and Cardinal Fernando Filoni, Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples. There are three "Orders" or ranks of Cardinals: Cardinal Bishops, Cardinal Priests, and Cardinal Deacons. In the College of Cardinals, there are currently 14 Cardinal Bishops, 177 Cardinal Priests and 35 Cardinal Deacons.

Link to the Vatican News report

Last Updated on Friday, June 29 2018  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

cccb plenary banner 2019 166x280 EN
Woman at the Well Photo
2019WeekofLifeandFamily EN
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


Canada’s oldest diocese, the Archdiocese of Quebec, was established in 1674. Most Reverend François de Laval was its first Bishop.