Bishop Gerald Wiesner Elected New President of the CCCB

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

(Cornwall - CCCB) Bishop Gerald Wiesner, OMI, of Prince George, BC, was elected today as the 28th president of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops at the CCCB's annual Plenary Meeting in Cornwall, Ontario. He has been CCCB vice president since 1997. Bishop Wiesner succeeds Cardinal Jean-Claude Turcotte, Archbishop of Montreal, who will complete his two-year mandate as president when the annual Plenary Meeting ends next Tuesday. Bishop Jacques Berthelet, CSV, of Saint Jean-Longueuil, Quebec, was chosen to become the new vice-president. He has served for the past two years as CCCB Co-Treasurer.

The election of Bishops Wiesner and Berthelet capped the first day of activities at the Plenary meeting. The bishops were also addressed by the new papal nuncio to Canada, Archbishop Paolo Romeo. The Apostolic Nuncio called for closer communication with the four regional episcopal conferences in Atlantic Canada, Quebec, Ontario and Western Canada to help him better understand the social complexity of Canada and how that impacts on the life of the Church.

The CCCB is the national association representing the Catholic bishops of Canada. Its mandate is to coordinate pastoral activities on a national level for the Catholic Church in Canada. The CCCB is made up of 133 bishops, including 70 diocesan bishops, 15 auxiliary bishops and 48 bishops emeriti in 71 dioceses, of which eight under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Churches.


For More Information Contact:
Deacon Bill Kokesch
Director, Communications Service


Last Updated on Thursday, November 09 2006  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

2018synod en
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


Canada’s oldest diocese, the Archdiocese of Quebec, was established in 1674. Most Reverend François de Laval was its first Bishop.