New Archbishop for Moncton

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

(Ottawa - CCCB)... His Holiness Pope John Paul II today named Most Reverend André Richard, C.S.C., as Archbishop of Moncton, N.B. Since 1989 he has been Bishop of Bathurst, N.B. His new nomination follows the resignation of Most Reverend Ernest Léger as Archbishop of Moncton which was accepted by the Pope in conformity with canon 401, § 2.

A member of the Holy Cross Congregation, Archbishop Richard was born June 30, 1937, in Kent, N.B., and ordained a priest in 1963. He did his theological studies in Rome, as well as at the Dominican Centre in Paris which specializes in religious formation, the Pastoral Catechetical Institute of Strasbourg and the Pastoral Institute of Montreal.

From 1976 to 1985 he was provincial superior of his religious congregation in New Brunswick, as well as serving in various parishes in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

He has been active in the life of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB). He is currently a member of the French Sector Commission for Christian Education and previously served on the Permanent Council as well as the French Sector Commission for Social Communications. During 1999 he chaired the National Committee for the Preparation of the Great Jubilee of the Year 2000. As well, from 1998 to 2000, he was President of the Atlantic Episcopal Assembly.

The Archdiocese of Moncton has 60 diocesan and 30 religious priests, 343 religious sisters and brothers, one permanent deacon and 88 lay pastoral workers serving a Catholic population of 105,000 in 60 parishes and missions.

For More information Contact:
Deacon William Kokesch
Director, Communications Service


Last Updated on Tuesday, May 23 2006  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


The colours of the web site represent the official heraldic insignia of Bishops. The green corresponds to the galero (ecclesiastical hat) and six tassels on each side that make up the crest and supporters of the coat of arms of each Bishop while the gold represents the processional cross. More info...