New Cardinal Named in Canada

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

(CCCB – Ottawa) Archbishop Marc Ouellet of Quebec City was one of 31 new cardinals named by His Holiness Pope John Paul II, Sunday, September 28, 2003, including one in pectore, known only to the Pope. Cardinal-elect Ouellet is also Primate of the Catholic Church in Canada.

The elevation of Archbishop Ouellet to the College of Cardinals brings the number of Cardinals in Canada to five: His Eminence Jean-Claude Cardinal Turcotte, Archbishop of Montreal; His Eminence Aloysius Cardinal Ambrozic, Archbishop of Toronto; His Eminence Louis-Albert Cardinal Vachon, Archbishop Emeritus of Quebec City; and His Eminence Édouard Cardinal Gagnon, P.S.S., President-emeritus of the Pontifical Council for the Family and previously Bishop of St. Paul, Alberta.

Born in Lamotte, Quebec, in the Diocese of Amos, Archbishop Ouellet is 59 years of age. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1968 and consecrated a Bishop in March 2001 when he was also named by the Holy Father as Secretary for the Pontifical Council for Christian Unity. In November 2002, the Holy Father appointed him as Archbishop of Quebec City.

The new cardinal currently has a number of Vatican responsibilities including: consultor with the Congregation for the Doctrine of Faith, and also with the Congregation for Divine Worship; secretary of the Commission for Religious Relations with Jews; and a member of the Permanent Interdiscasteral Commission for the Eastern Churches in Europe, and of the Pontifical Academy of Theology.

Cardinal-elect Ouellet and the other 29 bishops and priests who have been named will be elevated to the College of Cardinals during a consistory that will be held at the Vatican on October 21. Archbishop Ouellet becomes the seventh Cardinal in the history of the Archdiocese of Quebec.

The College of Cardinals is now made up of 194 members (excluding the cardinal in pectore) of which 135, being less than 80 years of age, are eligible to elect a new Pope in the next Conclave. Currently in Canada, three of the five cardinals are electors: His Eminence Jean-Claude Cardinal Turcotte, His Eminence Aloysius Ambrozic and Cardinal-elect Ouellet.

In addition to Archbishop Ouellet, the following bishops and priests were named to the College of Cardinals by the Holy Father yesterday:

  • Archbishop Jean-Louis Tauran: Secretary for Relations with States
  • Archbishop Renato Raffaele Martino: President of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace
  • Archbishop Francesco Marchisano: Archpriest of the Vatican Basilica
  • Archbishop Julian Herranz: President of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts
  • Archbishop Javier Lozano Barragan: President of the Pontifical Council for Health Care Workers
  • Archbishop Stephen Fumio Hamao: President of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People
  • Archbishop Attilio Nicora: President the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See
  • Archbishop Angelo Scola, Patriarch of Venice, Italy
  • Archbishop Anthony Olubunmi Okogie of Lagos, Nigeria
  • Archbishop Bernard Panafieu of Marseilles, France
  • Archbishop Gabriel Zubeir Wako of Khartoum, Sudan
  • Archbishop Carlos Amigo Vallejo, O.F.M., of Seville, Spain
  • Archbishop Justin Francis Rigali of Philadelphia, U.S.A
  • Archbishop Keith Michael Patrick O'Brien of Saint Andrews and Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Archbishop Eusebio Oscar Scheid, S.C.I., of Sao Sebastiao do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Archbishop Ennio Antonelli of Florence, Italy
  • Archbishop Tarcisio Bertone, S.D.B., of Genoa, Italy
  • Archbishop Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson of Cape Coast, Ghana
  • Archbishop Telesphore Placidus Toppo of Ranchi, India
  • Archbishop George Pell of Sydney, Australia
  • Archbishop Josip Bozanic of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Archbishop Jean-Baptiste Pham Minh Man of Hochiminhville, Vietnam
  • Archbishop Rodolfo Quezada Toruno of Guatemala, Guatemala
  • Archbishop Philippe Barbarin of Lyon, France
  • Archbishop Peter Erdo of Esztergom-Budapest, Hungary
  • Father Georges Marie Martin Cottier, O.P., theologian of the Pontifical Household, from Switzerland
  • Msgr. Gustaaf Joos of the Diocese of Ghent, Belgium
  • Father Tomas Spidlik, S.J., of the Czech Republic
  • Father Stanislas Nagy of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, (Dehonians), Poland


For More information Contact:
Deacon William Kokesch
Director, Communications Service


Last Updated on Friday, January 06 2012  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

2018synod en
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


The colours of the web site represent the official heraldic insignia of Bishops. The green corresponds to the galero (ecclesiastical hat) and six tassels on each side that make up the crest and supporters of the coat of arms of each Bishop while the gold represents the processional cross. More info...