Resignation of the Bishop and Election of a Diocesan Administrator for the Diocese of St. Catharines

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

Pope Benedict XVI accepted on April 7, 2010 the resignation of Most Reverend James Wingle, who has asked to leave office for reasons of health. He had been Bishop of St. Catharines since January 2002. Previously, as of May 1993, he had been Bishop of Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.

msgr_kirkpatrickMonsignor Wayne Kirkpatrick, P.H., was elected Diocesan Administrator by the College of Consultors on April 13, 2010. He will ensure the leadership of the Diocese until a new Bishop is named. Until now, Monsignor Kirkpatrick has held the positions of Chancellor, Judicial Vicar, Rector of the St. Catherine of Alexandria Cathedral and Moderator of the Curia for the Diocese of St. Catharines.

The Diocese of St. Catharines has a Catholic population of 153,565 in 46 parishes and missions, served by 56 diocesan priests, 32 priests who are members of religious orders, ten permanent deacons and 43 religious brothers and sisters.

Last Updated on Wednesday, April 28 2010  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcentral DP EN Quick 

2018WeekofLifeandFamily EN
2017 Mass EN
Cover Page Unity of Life and Love EN
CCODP Fall 2017
184-940K EN


Logo 500e Reformation
Euthanasia EN


The colours of the web site represent the official heraldic insignia of Bishops. The green corresponds to the galero (ecclesiastical hat) and six tassels on each side that make up the crest and supporters of the coat of arms of each Bishop while the gold represents the processional cross. More info...