Bishop Gilles Cazabon named Vice President of Canadian Council of Churches

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

cazabon.jpg(CCCB – Ottawa)…. Most Reverend Gilles Cazabon, O.M.I., Bishop Emeritus of Saint-Jérôme, was elected one of three Vice Presidents of the Canadian Council of Churches (CCC) during the recent meeting of its Governing Board, held in Ottawa.

Along with Bishop Cazabon, the CCC Executive for the next three years will comprise Rev. Bruce Adema, of the Christian Reformed Church, as President; Major Gillian Brown, of the Salvation Army, and Father John Jillions, of the Orthodox Church in America, also as Vice Presidents; and Mr Don Taylor of the Presbyterian Church in Canada, as Treasurer.

Also during the same meeting of the Governing Board, the Ukrainian Catholic Church in Canada was accepted as a full member of the CCC. The Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops has already been a full member since 1997.

The Canadian Council of Churches is the largest ecumenical body in Canada. Established in 1944, its members comprise 22 Churches and ecclesial communities, including Anglican, Orthodox and Oriental Orthodox, Protestant and Roman Catholics.

Last Updated on Friday, August 07 2009  
The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

ResponsibleMinistry EN
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


According to Statistics Canada the number of Catholics is close to 13 Million or 44 per cent of the country’s total population.