Catholic layman elected to Canadian Council of Churches Executive

Friday, June 1, 2012

canadiancouncil_logoThe Governing Board of the Canadian Council of Churches (CCC), at its May 16-18 meeting in Ottawa, elected Mr. Larry Brennan from the Diocese of London as the new CCC Treasurer. Mr. Brennan brings a lifetime of financial management experience to the post, much of it as the chief financial officer for the Diocese of London. Rounding out the new CCC Executive are President Major Jim Champ of the Salvation Army, Vice Presidents The Rev. Dr. Susan Eagle of The United Church of Canada, The Rev. Dr. Das Sydney of the Canadian Baptists of Ontario and Quebec, and Father Cyprian Hutcheon of The Orthodox Church of America, as well as outgoing President The Rev. Bruce Adema of the Christian Reformed Church. The previous CCC Executive had included the Most Reverend Gilles Cazabon, O.M.I., Bishop emeritus of Saint-Jérôme, as one of the three Vice Presidents. Mr. Brennan had been nominated by the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB), following the recent retirement of former CCC Treasurer Mr. Don Taylor from The Presbyterian Church in Canada.

The Governing Board also voted at its recent meeting to accept the Atlantic Baptist Fellowship as the 24th Church or ecclesial community to become a member of the Council.

The CCCB was an associate member of the CCC from 1985 to 1997, and has been a full member since then. The CCCB takes an active part on CCC Commissions and Committees. More information on the CCC and its work is available on its website: