Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall celebrates its 125th anniversary

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Logo 125e A CornwallOn January 23, 1890, the Holy See erected the Diocese of Alexandria, which was then made up of the counties of Glengarry and Stormont in Ontario. At the time, it was the smallest in the country with just 21,550 Catholics in 10 parishes served by 12 priests. Today the Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall has 29 parishes and missions, with a Catholic population of 55,570. Under the overall theme A Legacy of Faith, the diocese has organized a number of projects to celebrate its heritage as well as to involve Catholics in reaffirming and sharing their faith. A number of activities will take place during 2015 to mark the 125th anniversary, including a Mass of thanksgiving and a reception on May 21. The diocese will also offer five short TV vignettes produced with TVCOGECO Cornwall which retell its history through the eyes of the Bishops who have served the diocese. A special logo has also been prepared which pays tribute to the founding peoples of the diocese: the Celtic cross represents the Scots, and the fleur de lis the French.

To learn more about the celebrations