Ecumenical Relations

Canadian Council of Churches

The Canadian Council of Churches (CCC) is the broadest ecumenical body in Canada, representing 26 Churches of various Christian traditions: Anglican, Evangelical, Eastern Orthodox, Oriental Orthodox, Protestant, Eastern Catholic, and Roman Catholic. The overall membership of the CCC reflects approximately 85% of Christian churches in Canada.

Having already worked with the CCC on various initiatives prior to 1980, the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops joined the CCC as an associate member in 1986 and become a full member in 1997.

The CCCB is currently represented on the Governing Board by two Bishops and the CCCB General Secretary as an ex officio member.

Statements listed below are by the leadership of the churches belonging to the Canadian Council of Churches, including the CCCB.