Appointment of new Bishop for Peterborough

Friday, March 10 2017

miehm(CCCB – Ottawa)… His Holiness Pope Francis today named the Most Reverend Daniel J. Miehm Bishop of the Diocese of Peterborough. At the time of his appointment, he was Auxiliary Bishop of Hamilton. Bishop Miehm succeeds the Most Reverend William Terrence McGrattan who was appointed Bishop of the Diocese of Calgary on 4 January 2017. Since his installation as Bishop of Calgary this past 27 February, Bishop McGrattan serves also as Apostolic Administrator of Peterborough until the installation of the new Bishop.

Born in 1960 in Kitchener, Ontario, Bishop Miehm studied at St. Jerome’s College of the University of Waterloo; St. Augustine’s Seminary, Toronto; Saint Paul University, Ottawa; and the Pontifical University of Saint Thomas Aquinas, Rome, where he earned a licentiate in canon law in 1996. On 6 May 1989, he was ordained priest for the Diocese of Hamilton, and named Auxiliary Bishop of Hamilton on 20 February 2013.

Bishop-elect Miehm has also been a Judge and Defender of the Bond of the Hamilton Office of the Toronto Regional Tribunal (1996-2012); an elected representative on the Diocesan Personnel Board (1998-2004); member of the Presbyteral Council of the Diocese of Hamilton (2002-2004); member of the Board for Hamilton Catholic Family Services (2002-2008), of which he was President for three years; and a member of the Board of Governors of St. Augustine’s Seminary, Toronto. At the provincial level, he has served as a member of the Professional Conduct Committee of the Assembly of Catholic Bishops of Ontario (2004-2010). As a member of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, Bishop Miehm serves as Catholic Co-Chair of the Hindu-Catholic Dialogue, member of the Standing Committee on Canon Law and as Episcopal Liaison with Canadian Catholic Campus Ministry.

According to the CCCB 2017 Directory, the Diocese of Peterborough has 64 parishes and missions, with a Catholic population of 99,785 served by 61 diocesan priests, 12 priests who are members of institutes of consecrated life, 13 permanent deacons, 72 religious Sisters and two Brothers who are members of religious institutes, as well as two lay pastoral workers.