CCCB appoints Father Louis-André Naud Director of French Sector National Liturgy Office

Tuesday, June 18 2013

Abb_Louis-Andre_Naud(CCCB – Ottawa)… The Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) today announced the appointment of Father Louis-André Naud as Director of the French Sector National Liturgy Office and Secretary of the French Sector Commission for Liturgy and the Sacraments. This appointment will take effect on September 1, 2013. Father Naud will succeed Father Gaëtan Baillargeon, who is retiring as the current Director and Commission Secretary at the end of August.

Father Naud was ordained a priest of the Archdiocese of Quebec City in 1972. He holds both bachelor and master’s degrees in theology from the University of Laval, and graduated in 1981 with a doctorate in sacramental theology from the Catholic University of Lyon. He has been liturgy director for the Archdiocese of Quebec City since 2000, and had previously held the same responsibility from 1981 to 1993. His work in the Archdiocese of Quebec City includes being a member since 1981 of the formation team of the Grand Séminaire de Québec; master of ceremonies for the Archbishop since 2000; and a member since 2012 of the archdiocesan committee for religious heritage buildings and sacred art. He was responsible for organizing the liturgical celebrations at the 2008 International Eucharistic Congress, and has served for a number of years with the archdiocesan offices as an animator in pastoral and liturgical ministry.

Father Naud is author of the book Célébrer la foi: Sens et art de la liturgie, published in 2012 by Mediaspaul, and has written for the periodicals Vivre et célébrer as well as Prêtres et pasteurs. He has taught at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, the Université du Québec à Rimouski, the Institut de formation théologique de Montréal, the Institut de pastorale des Dominicains à Montréal, and the Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies of the University of Laval, where he is also a member of the academic committee for the Monseigneur de Laval Chair.