Episcopal Resignation and Appointment of Apostolic Administrator for the Diocese of Hearst-Moosonee

Monday, November 30 2020

Ottawa – On 29 November 2020, His Holiness Pope Francis accepted the resignation of the Most Reverend Robert Bourgon from the pastoral governance of the Diocese of Hearst-Moosonee and appointed the Most Reverend Terrence Prendergast, S.J., Archbishop of Ottawa-Cornwall, as Apostolic Administrator of Hearst-Moosonee.

Bishop Robert Bourgon was born on 10 March 1956, in Sudbury, Ontario, and studied at St. Peter’s Seminary in London. He obtained a Master’s of Divinity from Saint Paul University as well as a Master’s and a Doctorate in Canon Law. He was ordained to the priesthood on 8 May 1981 for the Diocese of Sault Ste-Marie where he served as pastor in several of its parishes. In 1988, he became the Judicial Vicar of the Diocesan Matrimonial Tribunal and in 1990was appointed to the College of Consultors. In 1998, following the completion of his doctoral studies, he returned as the Judicial Vicar for the Diocese of Sault Ste-Marie and Associate Judicial Vicar for the Toronto Regional Matrimonial Tribunal. In 2000, he was named Episcopal Vicar for Canonical Affairs while retaining all previous duties in the Tribunal and in parishes of the Diocese. From 2012 to 2016, he served as Vicar General of the Diocese of Sault Ste-Marie. On 2 February 2016, he was appointed Bishop of the Diocese of Hearst and Apostolic Administrator of the Diocese of Moosonee, and ordained 25 April 2016. On 3 December 2018, Pope Francis united the Diocese of Hearst with the Diocese of Moosonee, creating the new Diocese of Hearst-Moosonee and, at the same time, appointed Bishop Bourgon Bishop of Hearst-Moosonee.

As a member of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB), Bishop Bourgon has served since 2017 as a member of the Commission for Justice and Peace, and since 1 January 2020 as Judicial Vicar of the Canadian Appeal Tribunal.

The Diocese of Hearst-Moosonee has 32 parishes and missions, with a Catholic population of 23,875 served by 21 diocesan priests, together with three priests, one Brother and three Sisters who are members of institutes of consecrated life, as well as three permanent deacons and three lay pastoral assistants.