New Bishop appointed for Sault Ste-Marie

Thursday, November 12 2015

damphousse(CCCB – Ottawa)… His Holiness Pope Francis has accepted the resignation of the Most Reverend Jean-Louis Plouffe as Bishop of Sault Ste-Marie, and has appointed today as his successor the Most Reverend Marcel Damphousse. At the time of his appointment, the Bishop-elect was Bishop of Alexandria-Cornwall. Bishop Plouffe has been Bishop of the Diocese of Sault Ste-Marie for the past 25 years. He had submitted his resignation to the Holy Father upon reaching the age of 75, as required by the Code of Canon Law.

Bishop Damphousse was born on March 19, 1963, in Saint-Joseph, Manitoba. He was ordained a priest on June 28, 1991, for the Archdiocese of Saint-Boniface. He served in a number of parishes throughout the Archdiocese before being named Rector of the Cathedral in 2008. Bishop Damphousse earned a Bachelor’s degree in psychology in 1984 at the University College of Saint Boniface, followed by a Bachelor’s degree in theology in 1989 from Saint Paul University, Ottawa. He received his formation for the priesthood at Saint Paul’s Seminary, Ottawa. In 2002 he earned a licentiate in spiritual theology from the Teresianum in Rome. On June 28, 2012, he was appointed Bishop of the Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall and ordained Bishop on September 2, 2012. As a member of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB), Bishop Damphousse currently serves as Bishop ponens with the French-language Catholic Biblical Society (SOCABI). As a member of the Assembly of Catholic Bishops of Ontario (ACBO), he serves on its Executive and as its liaison Bishop with the Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC).

plouffeBishop Plouffe was born on October 19, 1940, in Ottawa. He was ordained a priest in 1965 for the Archdiocese of Ottawa. On February 24, 1987, he was ordained Auxiliary Bishop of Sault Ste-Marie and later appointed Bishop of Sault Ste-Marie on December 2, 1989. As a member of the CCCB, Bishop Plouffe has served on various Commissions and Committees, including as member of the Permanent Council (1991-1995); member of the former Episcopal Commission for Social Communications of the French Sector (1993-1997); Chairman of the Episcopal Commission for Christian Unity, Religious Relations with the Jews, and Interfaith Dialogue (1999-2001); member of the Episcopal Commission for Justice and Peace (2001-2005); member of the Standing Committee for Canon Law (2011-2014); and Bishop ponens with the Canadian Association of the Knights of Columbus (2005-2007).

According to the CCCB 2015 Directory, the Diocese of Sault Ste-Marie has 96 parishes and missions, with a Catholic population of 206,405 served by 76 diocesan priests, 12 priests who are members of religious communities, 92 permanent deacons, 181 religious Sisters and Brothers and two lay pastoral assistants.