Doctrine

Documents

La science et la foi catholique (2019)

mardi le 15 janvier 2019

La Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC), par le biais de sa Commission pour la doctrine, a publié un nouveau document intitulé « La science et la foi catholique». Illustré avec des affiches de couleur, il s'adresse aux élèves du secondaire qui, lorsqu'ils apprennent à connaître leur foi, se demandent souvent si la foi et la science sont compatibles. Le livret peut être lu…

Message de la CECC pour le 50e anniversaire du Renouveau charismatique au Canada

mercredi le 31 janvier 2018

Pour souligner le 50e anniversaire du Renouveau charismatique au Canada en 2018, la Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) a publié un message daté du 25 janvier 2018, fête de la conversion de saint Paul, apôtre. Le message rend « grâce au Seigneur pour les bénédictions de Dieu qu'ont apportées les charismatiques catholiques à nos diocèses et…

Découvrir l’unité de la vie et de l’amour : réflexion sur les fondements d’une théologie de l’amour humain

jeudi le 21 septembre 2017

(CECC – Ottawa)... La Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) a publié un nouveau document intitulé « Découvrir l'unité de la vie et de l'amour : réflexion sur les fondements d'une théologie de l'amour humain ». Tout en réfléchissant aux images et messages contradictoires sur le sens de la vie et de l'amour véhiculés dans la société…

La coresponsabilité des laïcs dans l’Église et le monde

vendredi le 23 septembre 2016

(CECC – Ottawa)... La Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) a publié un nouveau document intitulé « La coresponsabilité des laïcs dans l'Église et le monde ». Cette lettre pastorale explore la grande responsabilité des laïcs dans le plan de Dieu pour le monde, dans lequel ils ne sont pas seulement des collaborateurs du clergé, mais vraiment «…

La beauté de la miséricorde : le pape François et la confession

mercredi le 10 août 2016

Afin d'aider les catholiques du Canada dans la célébration du Jubilé extraordinaire de la Miséricorde qui se terminera le 20 novembre prochain, la Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada a élaboré un texte intitulé La beauté de la miséricorde : le pape François et la confession. Il s'agit d'une série de citations du Saint-Père sur l'importance et la…

La dynamique missionnaire de la paroisse aujourd’hui

lundi le 08 décembre 2014

La Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) a publié un nouveau document intitulé « La dynamique missionnaire de la paroisse aujourd'hui ». Rédigé à partir du contexte actuel au Canada, le texte met l'accent sur le fait que « la diffusion de la foi au Christ, Rédempteur de l'humanité, est la mission première et fondamentale de l'Église…

Jésus et le salut : une réflexion pour le Carême

jeudi le 10 avril 2014

Pourquoi avons-nous besoin d'un sauveur? Qu'est-ce que le salut? Voilà quelques-unes des questions qui sont explorées dans cette réflexion présentée par la Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC). L'intention du document n'est pas de faire une analyse systématique ou dogmatique de la question, mais de permettre une réflexion théologique sur la signification du mystère pascal et sur…

Les composantes de l’évangélisation aujourd’hui

jeudi le 09 janvier 2014

La Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) vient de publier un texte intitulé « Les composantes de l'évangélisation aujourd'hui ». Rédigé dans le contexte de la société canadienne pluraliste, ce nouveau document de 16 pages s'adresse non seulement aux prêtres, aux personnes consacrées et aux agentes et agents de pastorale, mais également « à tous les catholiques…

Liste de recommandations pastorales et pratiques dans Verbum Domini

mardi le 15 janvier 2013

Quelle est cette liste et comment l’utiliser? L'Exhortation apostolique post-synodale Verbum Domini diffère de nombreux autres documents pontificaux en ce qu'elle fait de nombreuses recommandations de nature pastorale et/ou pratique. Ces recommandations qui s'appliquent de différentes façons à toutes et à tous dans l'Église – le clergé et les laïques – sont regroupées dans un index analytique afin de les rendre plus facilement accessibles. Il est souhaité…

Le Concile Vatican II – Ce qu’il a été et son importance aujourd’hui

jeudi le 11 octobre 2012

Le 11 octobre 2012 marque le 50e anniversaire de l’ouverture du Concile Vatican II.  Pour l’occasion, la Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) a publié une lettre pastorale intitulée Le Concile Vatican II - Ce qu’il a été et son importance pour aujourd’hui.  La publication de ce texte s’inscrit dans le cadre des nombreuses célébrations entourant ce…

Lettre pastorale aux jeunes ayant une attirance pour les personnes du même sexe

lundi le 27 juin 2011

CECC – Ottawa, le 27 juin 2011.  La Commission pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada  (CECC) publie aujourd’hui une lettre sur le ministère pastoral auprès des jeunes ayant une attirance pour les personnes du même sexe. « En tant qu’évêques, nous souhaitons répondre aux besoins pastoraux des adolescents et des jeunes adultes qui s’interrogent sur leur identité sexuelle ou qui vivent…

Lettre pastorale aux jeunes sur la chasteté

mardi le 25 janvier 2011

CECC – Ottawa, le 25 janvier 2011. La Commission pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) publie aujourd’hui une lettre pastorale sur la chasteté à l’intention des jeunes. « La chasteté est un vrai défi aujourd’hui, en particulier pour les jeunes de notre pays. Nous voulons apporter un encouragement aux jeunes qui s’efforcent de vivre une vie chaste, leur dire…

Résumé de l’Exhortation apostolique post-synodale Verbum Domini par la Commission pour la doctrine, Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada

mercredi le 17 novembre 2010

Commandez dès maintenant au Service des Éditions de la CECC L’Exhortation apostolique de Sa Sainteté le pape Benoît XVI donne suite aux délibérations de l’Assemblée générale ordinaire du Synode des évêques sur La Parole de Dieu dans la vie et la mission de l’Église. Le Synode avait notamment pour but de vérifier la mise en œuvre des indications données par Vatican II, en particulier dans…

La piété populaire au Canada : réflexions sur des expressions populaires de la foi

vendredi le 22 octobre 2010

La Commission épiscopale pour la doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC) a rendu public aujourd’hui un document sur l’importance et le rôle de la piété populaire au Canada. Intitulé « la piété populaire au Canada : réflexions sur des expressions populaires de la foi », ce document est publié maintenant en vue de célébrer la récente canonisation du Saint Frère André,…

La Parole de Dieu dans l’Écriture

jeudi le 04 septembre 2008

La Parole de Dieu dans l’Écriture : Comment la lire et l’interpréter (Format PDF) Diffusée de nouveau à l’occasion du Synode sur La Parole de Dieu dans la vie et la mission de l’Église, 2008.

Le sacrement de la Réconciliation

jeudi le 28 février 2008

Réflexion théologique et pastorale à l’intention des ministres du sacrement Le sacrement de la Réconciliation. Réflexion théologique et pastorale à l’intention des ministres du sacrement, copyright © Concacan Inc., 2006. Tous droits réservés. La reproduction, la transmission ou la saisie informatique du présent ouvrage, en totalité ou en partie, sous quelque forme ou par quelque procédé que ce soit, électronique, photographique ou mécanique est interdite…

Lettre apostolique Novo Millennio Ineunte : méditations et réflexions

mercredi le 06 septembre 2006

La lettre apostolique Novo Millennio Ineunte peut être utilisée par des groupes à des fins d’étude, de réflexion ou de planification. Le document s’avère un guide pastoral, se pose en défi et suscite l’enthousiasme pour quiconque aime l’Église et est appelé à jouer un rôle important en pastorale au sein de son milieu. Cette lettre se veut un catalyseur dans l’amorce d’une réflexion pour une…

Lettre pastorale de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada : le Renouveau charismatique au Canada en l’an 2003

mardi le 05 septembre 2006

À l’occasion du 35e anniversaire du Renouveau charismatique au Canada, la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada a adressé une lettre pastorale à tous les fidèles. Cliquez ici pour lire cette lettre.

Critères d’évaluation pour les nouveaux mouvements ecclésiaux et associations

mardi le 05 septembre 2006

Introduction Tout au long de l’histoire de l’Église, le Saint-Esprit a suscité des mouvements ecclésiaux et des associations dans l’Église comme moyens de propager la Bonne Nouvelle de Jésus-Christ. Ces mouvements naissent habituellement grâce au charisme d’un fondateur ou d’une fondatrice et sa capacité de rassembler des personnes ; ce charisme engendre ensuite un renouveau dans la vie de l’Église. Grâce à la vitalité et…

Doctrine

Documents

Science and Catholic Faith (2019)

Tuesday, January 15 2019

The Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB), through its Commission for Doctrine, has released a new document, titled Science and Catholic Faith. Illustrated with colourful posters, it is intended for students at the secondary school level, who, when learning about their faith, often ask the question, "Are faith and science compatible?". It can be read on its own or can be used as a tool…

Message from CCCB for 50th anniversary of Charismatic Renewal in Canada

Wednesday, January 31 2018

To mark the 50th anniversary of the Charismatic Renewal in Canada which is being celebrated during 2018, the Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) released a message, dated 25 January 2018, Feast of the Conversion of Saint Paul, Apostle. The message expresses “thanks to the Lord for the blessings of God which Catholic charismatics have brought our dioceses and…

Discovering the Unity of Life and Love – A Reflection on the Foundations for a Theology of Human Love

Thursday, September 21 2017

(CCCB – Ottawa)... The Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) has released a new document entitled "Discovering the Unity of Life and Love – A Reflection on the Foundations for a Theology of Human Love". At the same time as reflecting on the images and conflicting messages about the meaning of life and of love in contemporary Canadian society,…

The Co-responsibility of the lay Faithful in the Church and the World

Friday, September 23 2016

(CCCB – Ottawa)... The Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) has released a new document entitled "The Co-responsibility of the lay Faithful in the Church and the World". This pastoral letter explores the great responsibility of the laity in God's plan for the world, in which they are not simply collaborators of the clergy but are truly "co-responsible" for…

The Beauty of Mercy: Pope Francis and Confession

Wednesday, August 10 2016

To aid Canadian Catholics in celebrating the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy which ends this November 20, the Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops has prepared a text entitled The Beauty of Mercy: Pope Francis and Confession. It is a series of quotations from the Holy Father on the importance and beauty of the Sacrament of Reconciliation, and contains likewise words…

The Missionary Dynamic of the Parish Today

Monday, December 08 2014

The Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) has released a new document entitled "The Missionary Dynamic of the Parish Today". Written from the current Canadian context, the text emphasizes that "spreading faith in Jesus Christ, the Redeemer of humanity, is the Church's fundamental and primary mission" (no. 1). The reflection is primarily for pastors and those who serve in…

Jesus and Salvation: A Lenten Reflection

Thursday, April 10 2014

Why do we need a Saviour? What is salvation? These are some of the questions that are explored in this reflection offered by the Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB). Not intended to be a dogmatic or systematic treatment of the issue, the text is provided as an opportunity for theological reflection on the meaning of the Paschal Mystery…

The Essential Elements of Evangelization Today

Thursday, January 09 2014

The Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) has issued a text entitled “The Essential Elements of Evangelization Today”. Written from the context of the Canadian pluralist society, this new 16-page document is intended not only for priests, consecrated men and women, and those actively involved in pastoral work, but also for “all Catholics who desire to understand better and…

List of Pastoral and Practical Recommendations in Verbum Domini

Tuesday, January 15 2013

What this List is and How to Use it The Post-Synodal Apostolic Exhortation Verbum Domini was different from many other papal documents in that it made numerous recommendations of a pastoral and/or practical nature. These recommendations, which apply variously to all in the Church – both clergy and laity – are gathered here in a topical index so that they may be accessed easily. It…

The Second Vatican Council: What was it and why is it important today?

Thursday, October 11 2012

October 11, 2012, is the 50th anniversary of the opening of the Second Vatican Council. To commemorate this, the Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) has published a pastoral letter titled The Second Vatican Council: What was it and why is it important today? Its publication is part of the many celebrations surrounding the 50th anniversary, including today’s celebration…

Pastoral letter to young people with same-sex attraction

Monday, June 27 2011

CCCB – Ottawa, June 27, 2011.  The Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) released today a letter on pastoral ministry to young people with same-sex attraction. “As Bishops, we wish to address the pastoral needs of adolescents and young adults who question their sexual identity or experience feelings of same-sex attraction.  We are concerned for the spiritual good of all…

Living Chastity Today

Tuesday, January 25 2011

CCCB – Ottawa, January 25, 2011 The Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) released today a pastoral letter to young people on chastity. “Chastity is a very real challenge, particularly for young people in our country today. We want to assure those young people who are struggling to live a life of chastity that their bishops stand prayerfully with them…

Summary of the Post-Synodal Apostolic Exhortation Verbum Domini by the Commission for Doctrine, Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops

Wednesday, November 17 2010

Order Now at CCCB Publications Service This Apostolic Exhortation of His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI is a response to the 2008 Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops, whose theme was The Word of God in the Life and Mission of the Church. One of the goals of the Synod was to review the implementation of the directives on Scripture found in the Second…

Popular Piety in Canada: Reflections on some popular expressions of the faith

Friday, October 22 2010

(CCCB – Ottawa, October 25, 2010)… The Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) released today a document on the importance and role of popular piety in Canada. Entitled Popular Piety in Canada: Reflections on Some Popular Expressions of the Faith, its release was timed to celebrate the recent canonization of Saint Brother André, whose life and work illustrate the enduring…

The Word of God in Scripture

Thursday, September 04 2008

The Word of God in Scripture: How to read and interpret the Bible (PDF Format) Re-released on the occasion of the Synod on The Word of God in the Life and Mission of the Church, 2008.

The Sacrament of Reconciliation

Thursday, February 28 2008

A Theological and Pastoral Reflection for the Ministers of the Sacrament The Sacrament of Reconciliation: A Theological and Pastoral Reflection for the Ministers of the Sacrament, copyright © Concacan Inc., 2006. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, photographic, or mechanical, or by any information storage and retrieval system without the…

Apostolic Letter Novo Millennio Ineunte: meditations, reflection questions and group theme sessions

Wednesday, September 06 2006

The Apostolic Letter Novo Millennio Ineunte is available to groups for study, reflection and planning. This letter has great value for those who love the Church and who exercise some responsibility in its pastoral ministry or service. It is filled with enthusiasm, challenge, and pastoral guidance. It can be the catalyst for a fruitful reflection by a parish or diocese on its pastoral ministry. It…

A CCCB Pastoral Letter: The Charismatic Renewal in Canada 2003

Tuesday, September 05 2006

On the occasion of the 35th anniversary of the Charismatic Renewal in Canada, we, the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, wish to address this pastoral letter to all the faithful. Click here to read the pastoral letter.

New Ecclesial Movements & Associations

Tuesday, September 05 2006

Introduction Throughout the history of the Church, the Holy Spirit has continually raised up ecclesial movements and associations as instruments in the Church for spreading the Good News of Jesus Christ. At the beginning of every such movement, there is always some charismatic figure, some founding individual who has the capacity to attract people around him or her and brings newness of life in the…