Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops Elect New Executive

Monday, October 16 2023

16 October 2023, Ottawa – Following the conclusion of the 2023 Plenary Assembly meeting, the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) held its biennial election to determine the new members the Executive Committee and Permanent Council. The Most Reverend William T. McGrattan, Bishop of Calgary was elected as President, and the Most Reverend Pierre Goudreault, Bishop of Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière was elected as Vice President.

The new CCCB President, Bishop McGrattan, was born in London, Ontario, on 19 September 1956. He was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of London on 2 May 1987. He was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Toronto on 6 November 2009 and his episcopal ordination was held on 12 January 2010. On 8 April 2014, he was appointed Bishop of Peterborough and installed on 23 June 2014. On 3 January 2017, Bishop McGrattan was appointed Bishop of Calgary and installed on 27 February 2017. He has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2017.

The new Vice President, Bishop Pierre Goudreault, was born in Rouyn-Noranda, Québec, on 27 May 1963. He was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of Rouyn-Noranda on 18 May 1991. He was appointed Bishop of Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière in 8 December 2017. Bishop Goudreault was ordained Bishop and installed on 10 March 2018. He has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2019.

The Executive Committee also includes two Co-Treasurers: from the English Sector, for a second term, the Most Reverend Gerard Bergie, Bishop of St. Catharines, and from the French Sector, for a first term, the Most Reverend Christian Rodembourg, M.S.A., Bishop of Saint-Hyacinthe.



The following Bishops were elected to the Permanent Council as regional representatives: the Most Rev. Mgr Wayne Kirkpatrick (Atlantic), the Most Rev Daniel Jodoin (Quebec), the Most Rev. Daniel J. Miehm (Ontario), and the Most Rev. Mark Hagemoen (West). To ensure an equal number of Bishops from both the English Sector and the French Sector, the Plenary Assembly also elected two sectorial representatives (from the French Sector): the Most Rev. Guy Desrochers, C.Ss.R., and the Most Rev. Pierre-Olivier Tremblay, O.M.I. The rest of the Permanent Council is made up of the above-mentioned members of the Executive Committee and four other ex officio members.

As part of the regular proceedings of the meetings, the Plenary Assembly meeting began with a message to the Holy Father, followed by the President’s Report on the Conference’s activities over the previous year. The Apostolic Nuncio to Canada, the Most Reverend Ivan Jurkovič, delivered greetings to all Bishops on behalf of Pope Francis. The Bishops of Canada were pleased to receive an address by His Eminence Luis Antonio Gokim Cardinal Tagle, on the reform of the Roman Curia according to Pope Francis’ Apostolic Constitution Predicate Evangelium.

Presentations were also provided on activities related to Palliative Care, Development and Peace – Caritas Canada, 2023 World Youth Day, Pastoral accompaniment of Indigenous Peoples, Responsible Ministry and the Protection of Minors and Vulnerable Persons, and the XVI Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops of Synodality. Each year, the agenda of the Plenary Assembly includes time for the meetings of English Sector and French Sector Bishops allowing for discussion on liturgical, catechetical and other pastoral matters which are closely tied to language and culture. Recap videos summarizing the Plenary Assembly’s key discussions and decisions can be found here.


Media Inquiries:
Maribel Mayorga
Director of Communications
Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB)
Telephone: 613-241-9461, ext. 225