Most Reverend Murray Chatlain Becomes Bishop of Mackenzie-Fort Smith

Friday, May 09 2008

chatlain.jpg(CCCB – Ottawa) – On 10 May 2008, Pope Benedict XVI accepted the resignation of Most Rev. Denis Croteau, O.M.I., Bishop of Mackenzie-Fort Smith. With this announcement, Most Rev. Murray Chatlain, Coadjutor Bishop, became the new Bishop of Mackenzie-Fort Smith. Bishop Croteau, who had reached the age of 75 on 23 June 2007, has been responsible for the diocese for the past 22 years.

Born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, 19 January 1963, Most Rev. Murray Chatlain was ordained to the priesthood in 1987. He served a number of parishes in the Diocese of Saskatoon before ministering in the Diocese of Mackenzie-Fort Smith, in the parishes and missions of Black Lake, Fond-du-Lac, Stony Rapids, Uranium City, Camsell Portage and St. Patrick. Bishop Chatlain was appointed Coadjutor Bishop of Mackenzie-Fort Smith on 23 June 2007.

Born in Thetford Mines, Quebec, on 23 October 1932, Most Rev. Denis Croteau, O.M.I., was ordained to the priesthood on 31 August 1958 as a member of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate. After ministering in various Catholic communities in the North, he was ordained Bishop of Mackenzie-Fort Smith on 8 June 1986. Throughout the following years, Bishop Croteau was a member on many Episcopal Commissions within the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, including what were formerly the Commissions for Missions and Ecumenism and most recently the Evangelization of Peoples.

The Diocese of Mackenzie-Fort Smith, the largest urban centre of which is Yellowknife, is served by eight diocesan and religious priests, three permanent deacons, 15 religious Brothers and Sisters, and 16 pastoral workers serving a population of approximately 20,110 Catholics in 40 parishes and missions.