New Permanent Council to Lead the CCCB

Wednesday, October 28 2009

nouveau_president.jpg(CCCB-Ottawa)… During their annual Plenary Assembly, 19 to 23 October, held at the Nav Canada Centre, Cornwall, the members of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) elected those Bishops who will sit on the Permanent Council for the next two years.

The office of CCCB President will be held by Most Reverend Pierre Morissette, Bishop of Saint-Jérôme, and that of Vice President by Most Reverend Richard Smith, Archbishop of Edmonton.

The two Co-Treasurers will be Most Reverend Paul-André Durocher, Bishop of Alexandria-Cornwall, from the French Sector, who is serving his second term, and Most Reverend Douglas Crosby, O.M.I., Bishop of Corner Brook and Labrador, who is from the English Sector.

The four regional episcopal assemblies in Canada will be represented by Most Reverend Claude Champagne, O.M.I., Bishop of Edmundston, New Brunswick; Most Reverend Eugène Tremblay, Bishop of Amos, Quebec; Most Reverend Ronald P. Fabbro, C.S.B., Bishop of London, Ontario; and Most Reverend Luc Bouchard, Bishop of Saint-Paul, Alberta.

To ensure a balanced sectoral representation on the Permanent Council, two additional members of the English Sector were also elected: Most Reverend J. Michael Miller, C.S.B., Archbishop of Vancouver, and Most Reverend Terrence Prendergast, S.J., Archbishop of Ottawa.

Four ex officio members are automatically members of the Permanent Council: His Eminence Marc Cardinal Ouellet, Archbishop of Quebec City; His Eminence Jean-Claude Cardinal Turcotte, Archbishop of Montreal; Most Reverend Thomas Collins, Archbishop of Toronto; and Most Reverend Lawrence Huculak, O.S.B.M., Archeparch of Winnipeg and Metropolitan of Ukrainian Catholics in Canada.

The 14 Bishops noted above make up the CCCB Permanent Council until the 2011 Plenary Assembly.