Episcopal Resignation and Appointment for the Diocese of Amos and Unification of the Diocese to the Diocese of Rouyn-Noranda “in persona episcopi”

Monday, September 18 2023

18 September 2023, Ottawa – On 16 September 2023, His Holiness Pope Francis accepted the resignation of the Most Reverend Gilles Lemay, Bishop of the Diocese of Amos. On the same day, Pope Francis united the Diocese of Amos with the Diocese of Rouyn-Noranda in persona episcopi (i.e., “in the person of the Bishop”) and named the Most Reverend Guy Boulanger, who is the Bishop of Rouyn-Noranda, as the Bishop also of the Diocese of Amos.

Born on 6 June 1963 in Saint-Cécile-de-Whitton, Quebec, Mgr Boulanger was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Sherbrooke on 26 October 1991.

He was appointed Bishop of the Diocese of Rouyn-Noranda on 31 January 2020, and ordained Bishop at Saint-Joseph Cathedral by Archbishop Paul-André Durocher on 28 August 2020.

Bishop Gilles Lemay was born on 24 February 1948 in Sainte-Emmélie-de-Leclercville, Quebec. After studying theology at the Grand Séminaire de Québec and Laval University, he was ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of Québec on 18 June 1972. Bishop Lemay was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Quebec City and Titular Bishop of Eguga on 11 February 2005. He was consecrated Auxiliary Bishop of Quebec in the Basilica of Sainte-Anne de Beaupré on 10 April 2005. A few years later, Bishop Lemay was named Bishop of the Diocese of Amos, Quebec, on 22 February 2011. His enthronement as Bishop of Amos took place on 15 April 2011.

The Diocese of Amos has 58 parishes and missions and a Catholic population of 88,775, served by 14 diocesan priests, nine women who are members of institutes of consecrated life, four permanent deacons, and two lay pastoral agents.


Maribel Mayorga
Director of Communications
Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB)
Email: communications@cccb.ca
Telephone: 613-241-9461, ext. 225